A provincial certificate for passenger ropeways in Ontario. The February 2026 policies require a TSSA exam at 70%, and you bring your own CSA Z98. Question count, sitting length, and the current exam fee were not published in a form this guide could quote.
Ontario certificate of qualification as a ski lift mechanic, issued by the Technical Standards and Safety Authority.
The February 2026 Ski Lift Mechanic policies say the exam is multiple choice, with two to four options, and that some questions use diagrams. The pass mark is 70%. They do not publish a question count or a time limit for each class.
Style
Checked
Multiple choice, two to four options, with diagrams that you answer from. The focus named in the policy is safe work, the Act, the code, and the regulations.
Pass mark
Checked
70%. The February 2026 ski lift policy and the 16 March 2026 preparation guide both use 70% for ski lifts. The 65% mark is for operating engineers.
Length
Checked
Not stated as one number for this certificate. The April 2026 guide says typical exams across certificate types run from 50 to 165 questions and up to 3.5 hours. Do not treat that range as the ski lift paper.
Classes
Checked
The policy table covers classes A, B, C, and F. Each class needs the provincial examination, documented sign-off, and time as an SLM-T.
Fees
Use the ski lift schedule, not the operating engineers schedule. The February 2026 fee table is an image, so this guide does not quote a current exam fee or certificate fee. The May 2024 amounts are not used as today's price.
Ontario
Examination
TODO
TSSA ski lift examination
No dollar total
The February 2026 Ski Lift Mechanic policies include a fee table as an image. The amount was not extracted, so this calculator does not quote an exam fee or a certificate fee. The May 2024 schedule's $78.50 and $85 are not used as current prices.
TODO. The February 2026 Ski Lift Mechanic policies include a fee table as an image, and the dollar amount was not extracted. This guide does not use the May 2024 v1.4 figures ($78.50 exam, $85 certificate) as the current fee.
TODO. The policies say applicants must pass the examination or examinations for the class. They do not say whether each class is one sitting. The calculator does not guess a count.
The January 2024 policy table is the source for the hours below. The table header calls the skills approximate and competency-based. An asterisk on the hour figures was not transcribed, so the footnote is unverified.
Ontario classes
Applicants send the application, the application fee, and a skills passport of SLM-T experience.
You must pass the TSSA examination for the class at 70% or higher.
Class A in the table: 6,000 hours or 36 months. Class B: 4,500 hours or 30 months. Class C: 2,000 hours or 12 months. Class F: 2,000 hours or 12 months.
Documented sign-offs during the qualifying period as an SLM-T are required for each of those classes.
TSSA's register-for-an-exam page says amusement device, elevating device, and ski lift candidates need formal approval from TSSA before they can request a date.
The application form says out-of-province applicants may have to write the qualifying examination and pass a practical skills evaluation.
TODO. The January 2024 experience table labels the hours as approximate and competency-based, and it marks the hour figures with an asterisk. The footnote text was not extracted. The February 2026 revision was checked for pass mark, references, results, and photo ID, not for a replacement hour table.
How to book
Ontario
TSSA posts ski lift mechanic exam schedules. The general TSSA route is the Client Portal, then Prometric. The ski lift policy says a TSSA representative or an authorized delegate presides. Confirm that route before you book. See the TO-CONFIRM note.
Cancel at least 22 days ahead to keep the fee, which is the rule in the 16 March 2026 preparation guide for exams booked through Prometric.
Bring government-issued photo ID. Results are sent no later than 30 days after the exam.
Do not request a date until TSSA has issued the formal approval the register page requires for ski lifts.
TO-CONFIRM. TSSA posts ski lift mechanic exam schedules, and the general TSSA route is the Client Portal, then Prometric. The ski lift policy says a TSSA representative or an authorized delegate presides. Confirm the ski lift booking route before you rely on it.
Rewrite rules
Ontario
The 16 March 2026 preparation guide says a ski lift candidate may rewrite after 30 days. Operating engineers wait 60 days. Those waits are not interchangeable.
The February 2026 policy keeps the pass mark at 70% and says results are sent within 30 days.
The current exam fee was not extracted, so this guide does not say what a rewrite costs. If the class uses more than one sitting, the policy still does not give a count.
TODO. The policies say applicants must pass the examination or examinations for the class. They do not say whether each class is one sitting. The calculator does not guess a count.
TODO. The February 2026 Ski Lift Mechanic policies include a fee table as an image, and the dollar amount was not extracted. This guide does not use the May 2024 v1.4 figures ($78.50 exam, $85 certificate) as the current fee.
Allowed references
You bring the references. The examination centre does not hand you the code. The April 2026 preparation guide says reference material must be unmarked, and that adding notes, highlighting that functions as notes, or altering pages can get the book refused. Personal reference material is not permitted.
Technical Standards and Safety Act, 2000.
Ontario Regulation 209/01 (Elevating Devices) and Ontario Regulation 222/01 (Certification of Elevating Device Mechanics).
CSA Z98, Passenger ropeways and passenger conveyors. This site does not quote that standard.
The elevating devices code adoption document, and the Director's Orders that apply.
The February 2026 policy says you bring your own CSA Z98 code book and the Act, Regulations, and Code Adoption Document. The centre does not supply them. Personal reference material is not permitted.
Bring your own writing tools. Confirm calculators against the preparation guide for the sitting you are given. Phones, watches that connect to a network, and other electronics are in the prohibited examples in that guide.
TODO. Question count and sitting length are not published for each ski lift class. TSSA says exams range from 50 to 165 questions and up to 3.5 hours depending on the certificate. That range is not a ski-lift count.
Syllabus headings to study
Names of the public syllabus sections, so you can follow the official PDF. This is not a copy of the syllabus.
What the policy says the exam covers
Safe work practices for the ski lift industry
The Act
The code and the regulations
Diagrams of practical situations
Reading schedule, not a question blueprint
The permitted statute and regulations
CSA Z98, using your own copy
The code adoption document and applicable Director's Orders
The skills in your passport that an examiner could ask you to recognize on a diagram
Study plan
Pick a pace
Both plans were written here. They are not issued by SOPEEC, Red Seal, or a provincial regulator. Ticks stay in this tab only. Put them on a calendar.
0 / 0 tasks
Four weeks of reading the permitted material. There is no public question-weight table, so this plan does not pretend to know which chapter has more marks.
Week 1The Act and the two regulations
Week 2CSA Z98, first half
Week 3CSA Z98, second half, plus adoption and orders
Week 4Diagrams and a timed review
Eight weeks for an SLM-T who is reading the code while working. Still not a blueprint.
Week 1Certificate classes and your passport
Week 2Act and Regulation 222/01
Week 3Regulation 209/01
Week 4Z98, design and operation chapters
Week 5Z98, maintenance and inspection chapters
Week 6Adoption document and Director's Orders
Week 7Diagram practice
Week 8Rules of the sitting
04 / Sample questions
Ten original questions
Pending review
Written for this site and pending review by a qualified person. Not past exam items, not copied from a code book, and not an official or certified exam bank. The interactive quiz needs JavaScript. The questions and answers are also in the page.
What pass mark does TSSA publish for a ski lift mechanic certificate exam?
A. 65%
B. 70%
C. 75%
D. 80%
Answer and explanation
B. 70%
The February 2026 ski lift policy and the 16 March 2026 preparation guide both use 70% for ski lifts. Operating engineer papers are the exams published at 65%.
Who supplies CSA Z98 at the sitting?
A. TSSA hands every candidate a copy
B. You bring your own copy. The centre does not provide it
C. The exam is closed-book, so nobody brings it
D. A classmate may share one book
Answer and explanation
B. You bring your own copy. The centre does not provide it
The January 2024 policy says the Z98 code book and the Act, regulations, and code adoption document will not be provided at the centre. Personal reference material is not permitted, so sharing notes is not a workaround.
Which experience line matches Class A on the January 2024 table?
A. 2,000 hours or 12 months
B. 4,500 hours or 30 months
C. 6,000 hours or 36 months
D. 480 hours after a power engineering course
Answer and explanation
C. 6,000 hours or 36 months
The table lists Class A at 6,000 hours or 36 months, Class B at 4,500 hours or 30 months, and Class C and Class F at 2,000 hours or 12 months. The header calls these approximate and competency-based. The asterisk footnote was not extracted.
Class C on that same table is:
A. 6,000 hours or 36 months
B. 4,500 hours or 30 months
C. 2,000 hours or 12 months
D. A written exam with no experience
Answer and explanation
C. 2,000 hours or 12 months
Class C and Class F are both listed at 2,000 hours or 12 months, plus the examination and the SLM-T sign-offs. The hours are labelled approximate.
Before you ask for an exam date, the TSSA register page says ski lift candidates need:
A. Nothing but a payment
B. Formal approval issued by TSSA
C. A Red Seal welder certificate
D. A 4th class power engineer certificate
Answer and explanation
B. Formal approval issued by TSSA
The register-for-an-exam page says candidates for amusement device, elevating device, and ski lift exams must have formal approval before they are eligible to request a date and time.
After a failed ski lift mechanic exam, the March 2026 preparation guide says you may rewrite after:
A. The next business day
B. 30 days
C. 60 days
D. Six months
Answer and explanation
B. 30 days
The 16 March 2026 guide sets a 30-day rewrite wait for ski lifts and a 60-day wait for operating engineers. The current ski lift exam fee was not extracted, so this question does not quote a dollar amount.
Which statement about the number of questions is supported by the ski lift policy?
A. The policy sets the paper at 100 questions
B. The policy sets the paper at 125 questions
C. The policy sets the paper at 150 questions
D. The January 2024 policy does not state a single question count
Answer and explanation
D. The January 2024 policy does not state a single question count
The policy describes the style and the 70% pass mark. It does not give a question count. The 50-to-165 range in the April 2026 guide is across certificate types, not a ski lift figure.
The in-training certificate named in the ski lift policy is:
A. SLM-T
B. 4th Class Power Engineer
C. 313A
D. 456A
Answer and explanation
A. SLM-T
The policy requires a skills passport of experience as an SLM-T, and sign-offs during that qualifying period.
A passenger ropeway exam question that includes a diagram is asking you to:
A. Ignore the drawing and answer from memory of a different lift
B. Answer the question as it relates to the diagram
C. Bring a personal sketch of your home hill
D. Ask the invigilator to explain the drawing
Answer and explanation
B. Answer the question as it relates to the diagram
The January 2024 policy says some questions are accompanied by diagrams that simulate practical situations, and that you answer as the diagram requires.
SkiLiftQuiz, the practice app for this certificate, is:
A. Live at steamticket.ca
B. A third-party directory of prep courses
C. Not launched yet. This page collects emails for the launch
D. The official TSSA exam
Answer and explanation
C. Not launched yet. This page collects emails for the launch
SkiLiftQuiz is Nick Hesson's Ontario ski lift mechanic practice app. It is not available yet. SteamTicket covers power engineering and 313A, not this exam. Nothing on this site is the official TSSA exam.
FAQ
FAQ
Is a ski lift mechanic certificate a Red Seal trade? +
Not on the sources used for this guide. It is an Ontario TSSA certificate of qualification under the elevating devices rules. Do not study it as if it were a 125-question Red Seal paper.
Can I highlight my code book? +
The April 2026 preparation guide requires permitted material to be unmarked and unaltered, and it warns that notes or highlighting that acts as notes can be refused. Read that guide before you tab a book. This page is not TSSA's rule.
What does the ski lift exam cost? +
This page does not quote a current fee. The February 2026 policy's fee table is an image, and the amount was not extracted. Older May 2024 figures are not used as today's price.
Are these 10 questions from past TSSA papers? +
No. They were written for this site from the public rules. They are not exam items.
TODO. The January 2024 experience table labels the hours as approximate and competency-based, and it marks the hour figures with an asterisk. The footnote text was not extracted. The February 2026 revision was checked for pass mark, references, results, and photo ID, not for a replacement hour table.
TO-CONFIRM. TSSA posts ski lift mechanic exam schedules, and the general TSSA route is the Client Portal, then Prometric. The ski lift policy says a TSSA representative or an authorized delegate presides. Confirm the ski lift booking route before you rely on it.
TODO. The policies say applicants must pass the examination or examinations for the class. They do not say whether each class is one sitting. The calculator does not guess a count.
TODO. The February 2026 Ski Lift Mechanic policies include a fee table as an image, and the dollar amount was not extracted. This guide does not use the May 2024 v1.4 figures ($78.50 exam, $85 certificate) as the current fee.
TODO. Question count and sitting length are not published for each ski lift class. TSSA says exams range from 50 to 165 questions and up to 3.5 hours depending on the certificate. That range is not a ski-lift count.